

Learning, Teaching and Student Experience Committee – Terms of Reference

2023-24

Parent body

Academic Board

Purpose

The Learning, Teaching and Student Experience Committee (LTSEC) is the key strategic committee of Academic Board responsible for strategic planning and policy development matters relating to all aspects of learning, teaching, enhancement, and the student experience.

These include the quality of learning and teaching in relation to any award with which the College is associated; and matters relating to student experience, including student voice, student support and retention.

LTSEC has three subcommittees which focus on particular aspects of its overall remit and report to it: Programme Scrutiny Sub Committee (PSSC), Student Access Participation and Outcomes Sub Committee (SAPOSC) and Student Transitions Programme Board.

Terms of reference

- To consider and advise on the development of the College's overall Learning, Teaching and Assessment [LTA] Strategy ensuring that it takes account of contemporary pedagogic research and best practice, and to recommend a strategy to Academic Board.
- 2. To establish clear communications with the Learning and Teaching Committees of individual departments in each School, in order to facilitate effective development and monitoring of departmental LTA strategies and action plans.
- 3. To monitor the College's progress against LTA Strategy objectives and associated action plans.

- 4. To develop and promote best practice and innovation in learning and teaching, taking account of research and development work undertaken in the Teaching and Learning Innovation Centre (TaLIC).
- 5. To develop and promote the College's approaches to enhancing the student experience, and for encouraging the internal sharing of good practice with respect to student experience including, student voice, student wellbeing, retention and engagement.
- 6. To receive reports and minutes from its sub-committees and to approve their recommendations as appropriate.
- 7. To consider and report to Academic Board on the following, together with any proposals which require action by the Board or by other individuals or bodies within the College:
 - a) annual reports relating to the quality of teaching and learning.
 - b) annual reports relating to student survey data (internal and external), including the NSS.
 - c) reports relating to the College's Access and Participation Plan, including confirmation of Departmental Development Plans produced in response to APP (and other) targets and monitored by SAPOSC.
- 8. To consider, and advise Academic Board on, strategic planning and policy development matters relating to learning resources.

Members

Composition	Member	Term
Chair: Pro-Warden Academic	Professor Ernest Caldwell	ex officio
Head of Student Success	Tobin Webb	ex officio
Chair of Programme Scrutiny Sub- Committee	Professor Tara Page	ex officio
Chair of Student Access, Participation and Outcomes Sub-Committee	Professor Dimitrios Giannoulopoulos	ex officio
Director of Library Services	Andrew Preater	ex officio
Director of the Teaching and Learning Innovation Centre	Fiona Handley	ex officio

Composition	Member	Term
Chief Information Officer	David Minahan	ex officio
Head of Equalities, Diversity and Inclusion	Waqar Ali	ex officio
Assistant Director of IDAP	Paul Yuille	ex officio
One academic representative from each School	Dr Shela Sheikh [MCCS]	to 2024 (eot)
	Dr Geri Popova [ECW]	to 2024 (eot)
	Dr Alice Jones Bartoli [Psychology]	to 2024 (eot)
Up to three additional members of the academic staff appointed by the Chair	Dr Carole Sweeney [ECW]	to 2025
	Dr Vik Loveday [Sociology]	to 2024 (eot)
	Dr Carla Figueira [ICCE]	to 2024 (eot)
Student's Union President	Victoria Chwa	ex officio
One other sabbatical officer of the Students' Union	Gammorah Britton- Gibson	to 2024
A Postgraduate Research Departmental Student Co-Ordinator	Molly Pardoe	to 2025
One Student Co-Ordinator from each School (including one Postgraduate Student)	Vacancy [PSST]	
	To be confirmed	
	To be confirmed	
Secretary	Gareth Bodrell	

eot - end of term

VERSION CONTROL

Full revision of ToR	September 2023	Governance Secretariat
Approval	20 September 2023	Nominations and
		Governance Committee
Approval	4 October 2023	Council
Updated membership	25 March 2024	Governance Secretariat